So indulge me if you will on a little detour we are going to take.  Personally, my accessory of choice has always been jewelry, and with the ladies of TAC embarking on the 6 Items or Less Challenge it has been on my mind lately.  I have a fairly large collection since I worked at a jewelry store, Pennyweights, for many years throughout high school and part of college…and I have kept every piece.  So I am always interested in what new paths jewelry makers are taking.  It is safe to say that jewelry, like clothing, will be around as long as fashion is around.  It is impossible to separate the two.  

So when I came across this amazing series of jewelry photographed by Patrizio di Renzo I was hooked.   Majo Fruithof’s jewelry collections are symmetrical in nature but is certainly not for squares. 

Her 2008 collection is almost complete done in black with the intentional splash of color or integration of white. All her pieces are exquisitely simple and easy to integrate into any fashion closet, but every single piece is a work of art in itself.  And in this world of Silly Bandz and multiple piercings, it is refreshing to see solidarity genius.

I know that jewelry of this kind is more of a metal works craft rather than a textile art, but metal works is also an age-old craft.  So thank you for letting me side-track just for a moment while accessorizing is consuming my mind.  And check out the TAC ladies on their 6 Items Challenge.

