Sandra Backlund

Knitwear genius extraordinaire.  Hailing from Stockholm, Sweden this talented knitwear designer has grown from single inventor to working with a team of experts.  Each of her collections have life of its own while maintaining the skill of the simple knit and pearl.

It was incredibly difficult for me to choose just one collection to highlight so I want to take a walk through them all.

Body Skin and Hair. Yes that would be hair that you are seeing, this collection highlights the proportions of the body and flesh colored tones, and actual human hair.

Blank Page is a collection done entirely with white thread.  Here we get a sense of wintery wonderland-ness with puffy looking snowball experiments.

In Perfect Hurts we see Sandra dabble in crochet and the delicate silk lining only accentuates her beautiful designs.

Diamond Cut Diamond style is harsh yet stunningly beautiful.  The model completely terrifies me, but OH do i want those awesome grey leg warmers!

Don’t Walk…you guessed it, the entire collection is done in a deep, rich, red.

Ink Blot Test. Tell me doctor, what do you see in this black and white confection?

In No Time


“My work is very personal to me.  I improvise and allow myself to loose control and see what happens if I do not think too much about practical things.  The human body is always the starting point.  I am really fascinated by all the ways you can highlight, distort, and transform the natural silhouette with clothes and accessories. I build garments from a couple of basic bricks which I multiply and attach in different ways to discover the shape that I want.” – Sandra

These next three collections speak clearly to this point.

Last Breath Bruises


Pool Positions

“I am interested in almost every traditional handicraft method and I do experiment a lot with different materials and techniques, but it is my three-deimentional collage knitting that is most significant.”

Control C

Sandra’s current collection for Spring/Summer 2010 is her first collaboration with a team of expert knitwear designers.  The knit wears carry less volume and are more consumer friendly.   Though they still maintain the same principles and techniques as Sandra’s solo collections.  You can still see her uniqueness shine through in these more conventional shapes.

