Sorry guys, I totally switched days on you.  See I thought yesterday was Wednesday, silly me.  Since I deprived you of your sustainable post yesterday I will give you one today.

Home — When I save up enough to build my dream home I would like my house to have a few key features.  I would like my home to be cozy, have tons of natural light, have an open, airy layout, and be made of shipping container material.  Yes, shipping container material.  I saw an image for a house made out of shipping container material and fell immediately in love with its exterior.

My inspiration

 

Using this recycled material has many benefits to the environment and the home-owner.

1)  They are ready available. There are millions of empty shipping containers cluttering world’s seaports. Only in New York there are about a million empty containers that overflow the seaport and jam storage yards.

2) The containers are cheap. The average container life is 2-3 years, then they are liquidated to make room for newer leased models. Because of this you can find them at real cheap prices.

3)They are build to resist in the not so friendly environment of the world’s oceans. Tough corrugated steel and tubular steel frames, one and a half-inch thick marine grade plywood floors, vandal-proof locking steel doors, water-resistant welded seams, and all-weather paint. Their rigid steel structure makes it easy to stack up to more building levels high.

4) They can be insulated and provided with windows and sanitary and electrical installations.

 

 

 

 

But probably the most practical use of old storage containers I have seen is their use in the creation of dormitories.  Inhabitat.com put out this post toady on their blog and I think it is incredibly brilliant.

 

“Shipping container dormitories seem to be all the rage these days but we just came across these cheerfully stacked student homes that have been around since at least 2005. Located on the Utrecht University campus in Utrecht, Netherlands, the container dorms were built as a solution to an overwhelming shortage of student housing. Each unit is painted in a brilliant color, making the complex seem more like a work of modern art than a place for college kids to live.”

 
Read more: Utrecht’s Rainbow Shipping Container Dorms Are a Work of Art | Inhabitat – Green Design Will Save the World

 




