After 10 amazing days, Owyn and I are back from Peru.

Beautiful landscapes? Check. Cultural shock? Check. Tasty and  (sometimes) scary food? Check. Overdose on back-strap woven and knitted textiles? Check check check.

We mainly raced through Lima, Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Machu Picchu, Lake Titicaca, trying to take the most of the experience in the few days we had. I personally had a cosmic moment when looking to the Machu Picchu from the Huayna Picchu mountain. For the first time since I remember, I had no thoughts in my mind but being mesmerized about what I was seeing. We didn’t have the time to go through the photos yet, neither everything can be told in a single post. But please keep your eye on future posts…

Today I want to tell you about one particular textile/cloth. In every place we went, we kept seeing women wearing square woven mantles as a means to carry everything, from handwoven textiles to sell, food and snacks, and their babies. They would simply bundle and fold the mantle and knot it across the chest. Simple, easy and efficient.

(images courtesy of google images search)

A while ago, I came across a tutorial video from Evergreen Warp that explore the same idea – how to make a bag from a square meter of fabric, just by knotting (Owyn posted their wrapping gifts techniques last week).

How versatile can actually a square fabric be! Really, from scarf to bag to baby carrier to little blanket.. And how meaningful can it be, if you weave it yourself like the Peruvian women.

