As most of you, I stayed snowed in yesterday, after an epic failed attempt to get to work. Biggest snowstorm since 1996, that’s what they say. It was a little bit of a frustrating day since I couldn’t get any work done – no internet, no right knitting needles, … However, each time that I’d look through my window, I couldn’t help to smile. Snow crystals, snow flakes, snow, snow mountains, snowed streets and cars.. Snow is so pretty!

And it made me remind of one of the first Abigail Doan‘s works I came across and that I truly loved, the Snowed Crocheted series.

Abigail Doan, Crocheted Snow 01, 2005

Abigail Doan, Crocheted Snow 03, 2005

Abigail Doan, Crocheted Snow 08, 2005

(photos courtesy of Abigail Doan)

I really love how the fine crochet work complements the delicate balance of the snow flakes on the branches. And just how simple and really beautiful it is.

And then, with my mind set on snow-y textiles, I started remembering the lovely white felted yurt, by Janice Arnold, at the Fashioning Felt exhibition at the Cooper Hewitt on Spring/Summer 2009. I went to see the exhibition on the opening night and it was crowded, but I remember coming back several times to this room and just stare at the walls and ceiling. The felt work is really complex and intricate, but expelling such a peaceful aura. Just like snow.

Janice Arnold, Palace Yurt, Site specific installation at the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design, 2009

(photo courtesy of Apartment Therapy)

Janice Arnold, Palace Yurt, site specific installation at the Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt National Design, 2009

(photo courtesy of Janice Arnold)

And finally, ended my snowy textiles dream with the installation piece World Wide Web, by Shane Waltener, commissioned for the exhibition Radical Lace and Subversive Knitting, at the Museum of Art and Design, New York, in 2007. I moved to New York 2 years too late, but I’d love love love to have seen this one live.

Shane Waltener, A World Wide Web, 2007

(photos courtesy of Shane Waltener)

 

Hope you had a nice and cozy snowed in day!

